Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a second year rookie. I have two questions... What do I do with the capped honey that was left from some hives that suddenly died out? I lost 4 our of our 5 hives to what I believe was because a brutal cold weather snap in late March. Bees were all doing ok when I checked on them during some nice winter days. There were a few days in the winter that warmed up enough for them to come out and about for a while. Then like I said, we had a brutal late hard freeze in March. Then when I checked them a few days after the cold snap they were all dead. Should I put it with some other hives or should I just harvest it? I know they did NOT starve to death because there was A LOT of capped honey left for them. This is my first time actually asking a question for help. I tried to attach pics of what I saw when I found my dead bees.
I did send them in for testing to the Bee research Lab in MD. I think it is rather hard to read their results. I have even had other beek look at it and they aren't sure of the results either. If anyone can tell me what it means, great -This is what it looked like...
COMB - Varroa mite (Varroa destructor)
BEES - Varroa mite (Varroa destructor) THERE WAS APPROX 5.8 MITES PRESENT PER 100 BEES.
Honey bee treacheal mite and nosema disease were not detected in the adult bee sample.

I sent in 2 bottles of 100+ adult bees and some brood comb. Any ideas on what this means? Did they freeze or did they die from the mites? Please don't think I am stupid, I am just learning.
Thanks for all your help.
5787c.jpg IMG_5778ca.jpg IMG_5772ca.jpg

·
Registered
641 Posts
I had the same thing happen....bees died over the winter with plenty of honey available. I'll be extracting in the near future or use it to sustain some splits. Until then, the frames are in storage. My mite count was under 1%.