Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am a newbie started last year.

I was at local book store looking at bee books and I met a gentleman there that was also a bee keeper.
He was telling me he sings while he checks his hives and swears the bees are calmer due to this, I have never heard of this was he making this up?

The real question is I can't sing and if I try I'm sure I would terrify the bees so I was thinking maybe bring an iPod out with me and try it, any recommendations of music honey bees might like??

Cheers

·
Registered
175 Posts
Hate to break from the witty theme here. :D But on a somewhat serious "note"...pun intended! :)

I have heard/read that talking to your bees keeps them calm...I want to say maybe this is in some old writings by Langstroth, but I could be mistaken. Anyway, I've tried it and would swear it has some merit to it. My theory being that me talking to the bees really helps to keep me calm, which in turn, means calmer bees.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
I subscribe to the talk- (or sing) to-your-bees school of thought. But then having lived long enough to be an actual old crone, this probably doesn't appear as weird for me to do as it might for a younger person. I also call a greeting to them as I approach to get them thinking about all the nice things that happen when I visit: SUGAR BRICKS!!! (and warm blankets on frigid nights.).

Does it work? I think it might because it may condition the hive mind to discern between me and other, less benign, visitors, particularly at night. I just sing nonsense songs that I make up extemporaneously, I suspect its the pitch of my voice not the tune which has an effect, if anything does. I also trained myself to make a 240 hz hum, which I can use when I need my brain for thinking about what the heck to do next and not whatever song I'm making up.