Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm looking for beekeeper(s) in the Payson area, or failing that, in the Rim country in general. I'm a complete newbee but am seriously thinking about getting a couple of hives in the spring.

Aside from needing general mentoring and some hands on experience of my own, I do have some area specific questions.

I live in the middle of the Tonto National Forest (private inholding) but can't keep bees on my property due to family and nearby neighbors who would strongly object out of fear of the bees. (It would be legal, it would just not be neighborly.) Also, we have goats and dogs I'm a little nervous about having a hive in close proximity to the other animals on the off chance the bees got upset someday -- hive gets knocked over or something like that.

I am putting feelers out for someone who might want to let me keep a few hives on their property but if that doesn't pan out, has anyone ever had any luck with getting permission to put the hives in the National Forest?

Directly related to that is the question of bears. We have bears here, though they're usually pretty skittish about people. Can bears truly be kept out with (solar powered) electric fencing?

We are surrounded by a lot of forest (and no agriculture to speak of.) There are a LOT of wild bees in the area. How much of an issue will disease likely be, and do I need to worry about Africanized bees crossbreeding with my bees? (I'm at 5800 feet in an area that gets hard freezes every winter -- I've heard varying things about there being Africanized bees up here.)