Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi there,

This is my first year opening my hives and I have a few questions. Please bare with me, I tried looking for the answers before I posted but no luck.
For context: I am in Quebec, Canada, I had two Langstroth hives (all medium supers all equipment was made by me). I had lost 1 hive in November (the weaker one of the two, they all died just before I was to did the Oxalic-acid treatment) and the other hive was doing well. I hope it survived the winter (they were still alive when I winterized, fingers crossed they survived but I am doubtful). I will be hopefully getting secondhand deep brood boxes but I may make some before the package arrives. Now, here are some of my question;

• Can I use the honey frames from the lost hive? I'm worried about dieseases being transfered into the new package. I haven't yet used a torched or disinfect the boxes or frames but I was planning on doing this at some point this week. Is this ok? I also have some frames that has pollen, I don't think I should use that but I am unsure.
  • Do you think I should use deep boxes for the packages or can I use what I have (money is an issue given the crisis). However, I can make some boxes in time. My questions is, do you think since I only have medium frames (I made wax starter strips last year) I could use these in the deeper boxes untill I assemble deeper frames? I don't have access to a car and will have to pick up everything from the bee supplier all at once.