Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to the Bee business and I have a question. how do most People transport bees? all I have seen are the Flatbeds with a net over them. the reason I ask is that I have an idea that they could be transported in a refrigerated trailer with the temperature turned down and they would kind of go into hibernation mode. this would be much easier on the bees for travel. the downside is that loading/unloading would have to be at the back of the trailer and you would have to use a pallet jack to move the bees to/from their location in the trailer to the back of the truck. with it being 36 degrees in the trailer would they stay dormant enough to allow this to happen without too many angry bees? this would also allow transportation in warmer weather. any advise would be great. as I am in the market for a trailer right now and need to know what to look for.

Dustin

·
Registered
151 Posts
Bees are in refrigeration terms "an active load". this means that they generate heat, so to cool them to a given temperature you need enough cooling to make up for what heat is coming in through the walls of the trailer, but also for the heat coming from the bees.
Not an insurmountable problem, but you will need to take it into account when sizing the refer unit.
Sorry, I don't know how much heat load bees have, but it will vary by how many bees are in the trailer.
You will also need enough capacity to cool them down from whatever the outside temperature is.

·
Premium Member
8,315 Posts
This question has come up several times before. Search "refrigerated truck" and check through the threads for some ideas.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
Preventing them from flying could probably be complished by screening the openings.