Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks for looking over my question.

Assuming a beehive has in fact been poisoned, is anything I am able to do to assist the colony in getting though this? I know I did not go into detail about colony size. etc.., but I'm really only asking for the standard "bee poisoning first aid" if there is any?

This is my first year keeping bees, so my experience / knowledge is limited, but what I did do was to put an inside feeder with 1:1 and reduced the entrance, and I am wondering if there's anything else that can be done to help? Or if I need to undo what I just did?

Further assuming that is was a systemic poison, are the colonies always a complete loss?

(And I have another hive next to it, that has no indications of being poisoned, if that matters.)

Thanks again,
b1rd

·
Registered
65 Posts
Unless you know the poison, you can't apply the proper antidote.
Most pesticides don't have identified antidotes for insects, only humans.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm really just trying to find out if there's a standard protocol for a hive that's suspected of being poisoned as far as support intervention. Example: I reduced the entrance to keep other bees out since the hive is weak, added a feeder for food supplementation. That type of a thing.

I don't know if this helps, hurts, or just a waste of time, but if there's anything else I can do I'd like to know, as this is occurring as I type this.

And I'd also like to know if a systemically poisoned colonies have a chance of pulling though?

Thanks,
b1rd

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
I would also throw out any frames with uncapped/newly capped honey. If the bees were poisoned by the honey they brought in you want to get rid of it before the eat it during the winter.