Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got into bee keeping with 2 new bee hives.

Got them home yesterday, set them up and all seem good until today.

While looking at the hives closely I noticed some tiny objects crawling around the hive sides and to, closer look they seem to be bee mites!

As a beginner I'm not sure what to do to get rid of them.

Any help/suggestions from the pros would be great!

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
11,877 Posts
Less likely to be varroa if only seen on the hive sides, although nothing is impossible.

Because you are a new beekeeper and at the beginning of the learning curve, the best thing at this time would be talk to the person you got the bees from, but be aware there are plenty of beekeepers with little understanding of varroa mites.

If that doesn't work out, see if there is a local bee club or individual with the knowledge to help you out, and preferably take a look for you in person.

If you ever see one of these mites again, and you have the technology, please get a pic and post it here.

Please also keep updated.

·
Registered
3,186 Posts
Glad you are aware of the biggest problem you and your bees face. Yes, that's not a mite. They are very hard to see and rarely seen off a bee unless they are dead. You should have a plan on how to combat them because if you don't, your bees will die. Plenty of discussions on this site on how to treat for them. If you learn one thing about beekeeping in your first year it should be how you will treat mites. J

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
Those bugs may or may not be anything to be worried about. But they are not Varroa destructor mites. Varroa are small , dark reddish-brown, ovals, a somewhat smaller than the sesame seed on a Big Mac bun. If you look at them with a magnifying glass, you will see what looks like a small fringe along one of the long sides of the oval - these are the mouth parts and legs.