Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read repeatedly that you pull your queen cells at 10 days. I assume that really means at least 10 days and am guessing that 10-14 days is really the window that you can pull capped queen cells out of a hive? I intend to move whole frames, I don’t intend to cut cells out. I ask because 14 days gets me thru the next weekend. 10 days means I have to do it in the middle of the week. This is my first attempt so I thought I’d ask BEFORE I wait 13 or 14 days.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,976 Posts
I've read repeatedly that you pull your queen cells at 10 days. I assume that really means at least 10 days and am guessing that 10-14 days is really the window that you can pull capped queen cells out of a hive? I intend to move whole frames, I don’t intend to cut cells out. I ask because 14 days gets me thru the next weekend. 10 days means I have to do it in the middle of the week. This is my first attempt so I thought I’d ask BEFORE I wait 13 or 14 days.
Thanks
"Pull your queen cells at 10 days" ?

If you mean that the queen cell are ready to be used, that is correct. The counting starts from grafting. If you wait 11 days, there is a good chance that some queens have hatched at least in the afternoon.

And then the new queens have to be taken care of, so I prefer using cells. They are easily excepted in all kinds of beehives, just remember to take away the old queen and look for queen cells the bees might have made themselves.

·
Registered
2,910 Posts