Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am a little new to trapping bees so maybe you can help me with advice. Had a rather large swarm move into and onto my swarm trap yesterday. Was all looking really good until this morning I go out there and the majority of bees appear to be bearded near entrance. A huge beard! Should I give them time to see if they go in the trap on their own? Or try to scoop them into another box then get remaining frames and bees from trap? Supposed to rain alot tomorrow so I need to get this done today. Thanks in advance for suggestions!

·
Super Moderator
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,553 Posts
Big swarm, little box? Sounds like they need a bigger place to call home.

Given tthe urgency, I would put them in a 10 frame with several drawn combs and a queen excluder UNDER the bottom box and above the bottom board. Tranfer the bees and leave the trap there for several days if possible. Make sure the queen cannot get back out, no upper entrance. Then screen the opening and take them home.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a pretty decent size box. Built it last weekend, 5 frame extra deep 40 quart. By extra deep I mean probably a good 5" of empty space under frames.

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
Prior posters report too much swarm lure will cause them to beard outside.

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
I would try to hive them and hope it does rain tomorrow and for the next week. It may be a 2nd swarm or as above.
If you can get them into a hive you save a step and maybe catch another in the trap.

·
Registered
1,505 Posts
It's a pretty decent size box. Built it last weekend, 5 frame extra deep 40 quart. By extra deep I mean probably a good 5" of empty space under frames.