Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to bee keeping and have two hives. Just recently I had a bear push down the electric fence around both hives and destroyed them. I believe the grounding on my fence did not deliver the shock needed to deter the bear (Cubs?). In two separate locations, I found 3 frames of bees clustered tight together. The temperature was dipping into the 30s that night and with one box destroyed, I consolidated all the bees into one box. I did separate each group of frames found on opposite sides of the hive body, and one off setting the other. i would have checked for a queen, but it was getting cold and I was tired of getting swarmed and stung. Basically I have possibly two separate colonies in one hive with two...maybe no queen. my plan, now three days later on the warmest day of the week (50 degrees). Is to open the hive, separate the two colonies (if there is two), put them in smaller separate hive boxes, insulate and feed them all winter....and hope at least one makes it.
I could any advice. The fence is fixed.

·
Super Moderator
Santa Cruz, CA
1,204 Posts
Wow, very sorry to hear that. I've had the opportunity to keep bees up in Lake Tahoe for years but have never wanted to deal with the bear issue. I hear they can be relentless!

Good new is that your bees were clustering together. Our hope would be that they were clustering around a queen. If you did combine two colonies with two queens, you would now only have one queen. There is always an exception to the rule so it's worth looking through frame by frame to make sure there is a queen, or two...or any. If there is no queen then obviously they have no hope and would be better combined into another colony you know is queen right.