Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
queen cells.jpg

I started a nuc last week with 2 cells of young brood and the attached nurse bees, 4 frames of honey, 2 frames of foundation and a frame feeder. I was hoping there were eggs fresh enough for them to make a queen. Being a newbie, I am hopeful that they succeeded despite my lack of knowledge. So, do these appear to be queen cells?

·
Registered
4,487 Posts
Those are called queen cups, my hives have those all the time.
The one on the right might have a larva in it, if so it will be a Q cell.

·
Registered
4,130 Posts
It appears one is capped and another in the upper right corner has larva in it, my only concern is the size of them they look small google honeybee queen cells and compare

·
Registered
3,125 Posts
Not sure how many days ago you split, some of the worker looks 5 or 6 days old. Some cups may be young cells. Unless you had to clear bees to get that photo you need to move more bees with your split.

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
Am not quite as positive as MP. Although the structures look like E cells, there is some conflicting data in the photo. For one thing, the cells, collectively, do not have sufficient down slope for queen cells. E cells typically slope downward at about a 45 degree angle. That's sometimes as close as they can get to vertical. Note that the cell immediately above the capped cell appears to actually slope upward? Drones are reared horizontally.

The capped cell, itself, does not look Queen-like. Almost any queen cell tapers in diameter to a capping dimension close to worker size. This cell capping is quite blunt, about the same size as the two at the bottom of the picture, which are drone cells.

Am not saying there are no queen cells in the mix, but the evidence suggests drone to me.

Walt

·
Registered
6,694 Posts