Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been beekeeping for about 9 years. Around 3 years ago, i decided to use some of Michael Bush techniques and converted to all mediums and natural comb for the most part. I also quit treating my bees for mites. My hives (14) have been in the full Alabama sun for the past 4 years. And to my surprise had done quite well during this 3 year time span, until Fall/Winter of this past year 2020. My last "official" check on my bees was around Thanksgiving and all seem relatively healthy and ready for the winter with plenty of pollen and honey on the hives. My check up inspection in mid-January 2021 revealed a very alarming and disheartening realization. 10 of my 14 hives were dead... gone... with only a handful of dead bees on the bottom boards. Earlier ride byes in December on warm days it seemed my hives were doing good. The presence of bees flying in and out made me think things were ok... not sure now if in December the bees flying might have been robber bees since i do not know when the "absconding" or die out occurred. I have always had a few hives not make it thru the winter (2 or 3 at the most) over the last 3 years. Never anything to this amount!

Just curious of any others experiencing this "AMOUNT" of loss (71%) and any thoughts on what has happened to my bees?? I did plant a garden this year on my property and just wander if it or other "new" gardens in the area (ALL DUE TO COVID influence) could have played a roll with pesticides and such?? we used BT dipel on my corn because it is supposed to be "Bee" " Friendly.

Thoughts??? ALso, should i burn my frames and bee equipment because of this???

·
Registered
495 Posts