Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a hobbyist just starting out. I put in a couple of hives a couple years ago and want to add a few more this spring.

Is there any supplier that has better prices on hives and frames than most?

I've used Brushy Mountain in the past with good results.

·
Registered
1,695 Posts
the best is one you can drive to and avoid the shipping cost now days, if you pays $1.00 more a deep at a place you drive to you will save vs paying price plus shipping. there is one in florida, maybe more since the high number of pollinators that winter there.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Walter Kelly is offering free shipping on orders placed on 3 specific days- check their web for dates. The past few years Brushy Mountain has offered free shipping in December. Both suppliers have superior products and they're especially attractive with 0 shipping cost.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
DADANT in High Springs, Florida. Its only about an hour north of you, one exit north of Gainsville. Its three hours for me but still cheaper than shipping. Other than that Brushy offers free shipping in December.

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
A lot also depends on the selection of the items. I "shop around" with all my catalogs and find some items cheaper in some catalogs, while other items to be more expensive. So for me, it depends on what I'm ordering. I usually write up a draft of my orders for each supplier to compare. Oddly, when I order a selection of several different items, the total price between different suppliers all come out very close in the end.

With all that said, it also depends on quantity and the shipping cost. Driving and picking up is sometimes cheaper for me. I'm five hours from the Kelley and five hours from Dadant. But I don't always have the time. In larger quantities, shipping by truck freight is a better deal and I don't kill a whole day driving.