Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a call the other day from a friend who has a friend with a house that is a second home that has bees that have moved in. I went today and checked on them and sure enough the bees have an entrance where the ceder siding butts up to the rock fire place. I went into the basement where I can see the floor and there is no way they are in the floor. I was thinking they were in the wall and I told them I would try to investigate it further this weekend. Then the home owner called me and told me that the rock on the outside is not the fireplace that there is actually aprox 6-12 inches of open space between the rock on the outside and the actual fireplace, so now I am thinking that is probably where they are at, what do you think? Also this is my first year and judging the field bees going in and out there appears to be much more flying than I see from both of my hives that are two months old put together. So I was thinking these bees have been there a while but the owner says 1 month ago he was hammering and replacing a rock that had fallen out that was just three feet away from where they are and he never saw a bee and it was on a sunny warm day. He also said that they were there two weeks ago was the first time he saw them. He lives in another state and comes in every 2 or 3 weeks for the weekend. I would like to help him and I am thinking the cone method would probably be the best bet. I read MB's page on the cone method and 1) I don't have any spare frames of honey to put in a hive, 2) The house is about 23 miles from me, how often would this need my attention? 3)With my colonies just starting out would it be wise to take a frame or two of brood and put in a hive, or not? The house is unoccupied most of the time. What would be the best thing to do? You all have not steered me wrong yet! I value your opinion. Also he says he will do whatever I recommend even if i