Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Great forum!

Another newbie here, live in western PA near Butler. My Christmas present this year was a beginner kit from Brushy Mtn. I've already added to it (a gift to myself) and now have enough equipment to start 2 hives with extra supers.

I'd really like to hear from anyone in western PA or eastern OH as to where you buy your bees or what clubs/resources are available nearby. I've sent emails to the associations on the PA State Beekeepers website, but have not heard anything back (maybe a slow time for the clubs?). I plan on driving to Spencer, OH in the Spring to pick up some package bees unless there is a closer place that has Carnolian or Russian bees.

I've been reading a lot of books mentioned here, watching a lot of youtube vids, browsing this forum (95% of the questions I had were answered here).... Also found a free online class at Penn State, plan on attending that also. Pa State Beekeepers has a link to it. Free is almost always a good thing :)

Looking forward to the Spring!
Larry

·
Premium Member
3,533 Posts
Welcome Larry
There is antoher beesource guy close to you in Worthington "Powernapper" but you gota kinda watch him he will go to sleep on you :eek:

·
Vendor
341 Posts
We list a resource on our site that is right near us. It will save you about a 3-hour round trip drive to Spencer and at least $10 per package.

I think Jerry only charges $65 for a 3# package. I think he's bringing in 600+. He sells out every year. Order now. The bees have a very good reputation. They are not trucked all the way from California, stressed like what you may find elsewhere.

P.S. We'll see you at the Western PA Beekeepers meeting in February!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Welcome Larry
There is antoher beesource guy close to you in Worthington "Powernapper" but you gota kinda watch him he will go to sleep on you :eek: