Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
These are the results from yesterdays sugar roll. I expected that I would have seen a lower percentage of mites in the nucs that raised their own queen. Hive 2 was queenless from late May to July (they refused to accept a purchased queen). Hive 18 is a split from hive 1. Both show a high mite load. But 50+ for a 5 frame nuc is unreal. Hive 9 was also split from hive 1 but has a very low mite load? The rest I need to study more.

I would appreciate your observations/comments.

Steve

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
I hope you have a plan to treat you're hives and nucs. I'm no expert, but with some of those levels they will not survive long. I had two nucs dwindle due to mites.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
Good for you to have done 18 sugar rolls! That's no small undertaking.

NY Beewellness thresholds that I use in the summer are: below 10% don't treat; 10-12% watch and recheck in a short time; over 12% treat at once.

In my practice if I hit 10% on a sugar roll, I treat. If in the low single digits, I don't. Between about 5-10%, I consider the watch and re-check area. I would consider any "roll" number above 15% practically an emergency. (I do more or less constant sticky-boarding and the numbers/thresholds are different for that method.)

If you're sure your sugar roll technique was good, math correct, etc., at least half of your hives need some action pronto, IMO. The little nuc (#18) is pretty small for chemicals; could you boost it with some frames from a low mite hive first? I always re-test in 24-48 hours any outlying results.