Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am posting this as I am a new beekeeper, our hives are in the midst of their first winter. My initial analysis of our hives when checking them this afternoon is, I think pretty much 100% wrong.

Let me explain...I put fondant into each of our three hives last weekend and went to put more in this weekend..or at least check in on whether they are eating it.

Hive 1 had the fondant is covered in bees and they were flapping their wings, I assume to keep warm (it was 45 degrees and sunny outside).

Hive 2 had the fondant from last week untouched and there wasn't any sign of a single bee anywhere. Being honest the hive sounded silent to me.

Hive 3 the fondant had been totally eaten.

As a newbie my initial reaction was:

Hive 1: Great! they are feeding, looks good.

Hive 2: The hive is toast. All bees are likely dead and it is a failure.

Hive 3: Even better than Hive 1, not only are they eating it, they have totally devoured it. A+!

Then, I spent 5 mins thinking about it and I have come up with the following thoughts which are pretty much the opposite. Please tell me if I am nearer the mark.

Hive 1: This is bad, if they had sufficient food in their frames they wouldn't yet have risen up and be needing fondant. I need to check in regularly and ensure they have as much fondant as they need/eat. the problem is we are about to get COLD Monday, 5 degrees with a 20MPH wind. IF they remain on top of the fondant they will likely freeze to death.

Hive 2: This is very good. Side note: My wife leaned over and said she COULD heave a buzzing in the depths of the hive. This likely means they have sufficient food lower down and have not yet made it up to the fondant. Keep checking every while and feed when they need it.