Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I may have 3 dead colonies making for a 75% loss. First winter with bees up here in the great wild north of Montana and not sure its going well.
I checked the hives on a warm day last week and only heard buzzing in one hive. There was still MC sugar in each of them. I raked a pile of bees out of the bottom of one of them. There was also a big cluster of dead bees in the quilt box which seemed odd; but this is my first year actually using a quilt box so maybe its normal?

I am hoping for the best but realistically I am prepping for the worst. Ill get some more nucs ordered in the coming month and hopefully not duplicate whatever mistakes I find upon a thorough inspection.

Not sure what happened; but not much I can do about it. Perhaps mites but I did a OA dribble in the fall.....

Disheartening but not the first nor the last colony I will slaughter....

Perhaps bee tales of my destruction will help keep my future colonies obedient. Much like the govt saying "Im a beekeeper and I'm here to help"

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
Much as I rely on OAV, an OA dribble in the Fall would not be enough to allow my bees to survive.

I do summer mites counts to make sure I don't need to treat at that point; then a four or five dose series of OAV in the Fall. And then a broodless period, one shot, in late December. I can get away without treating at other times because I monitor every week (sticky boards) and plus monthly (sugar rolls April through October) on every colony, all year long.

Set a up monitoring program next year, and treat when you reach thresholds. There are options for almost all seasons. Then plan on a series of OA in the fall to keep them clean and then the broodless period one-dose of OA once they are no longer flying out of your yard.