Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First year with bees, one hive.
Have captured one small swarm, but they absconded.
Have a Hogan Trap in place, but took a long time to close up all the holes. Ready to put the funnel on.

Then there was today:
Got a call about a colony in a hollow Cottonwood tree on the golf course, which fell last evening. Checked it out, since I have never done a cutout before. Looked ok, so got permission and gathered my gear.
Upon closer examination the colony seemed to all be in a 5' section of tree, about 10" in diameter. Did not take long to realize that I would not be able to dig the bees and comb out of the 6" hole. Decided 'why not just take the entire branch'? Loaded it into the back of the pickup and took it home. After using the trusty Skilsaw to cut out a panel the length of the branch I was able to get at all of the comb. Most of it very old, nearly black, filled with honey. Then found some newer comb with brood, and even some with larvae. It was too much of a mess to find eggs or the queen.

Cut out the comb and rubber banded it into frames. This was a problem since the comb was nearly as thick as two frames, and too large to fit into medium frames. Just shoved and pried it into place as well as I could, but could only get 6 frames into an 8 frame box. (The rubber banding trick is really slick!) Left the hive where it was for a couple of hours so all of the leftover bees could find it. Will probably move it in the morning to final position. Ended up with two 8 frame medium boxes full of comb and bees. They are quite mild. I do not know if I got the queen, but the way the bees have settled down and are either in the hive or clustered on the outside it looks like there is a good chance. Otherwise, I hope there are eggs and/or larvae they can use to create one.

I have some questions: