Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, it is fast getting warm here in Utah, and I have no shade in the backyard for my TBH. Installed May 13th from a wild swarm, the bees are doing really well, have 12 combs drawn and they are working on the 13th. I stopped the 1:1 a few days ago. Now the critters need shade. Since I am total newbie, I needed several sources for TBH shade ideas. This website is fabulous! Helped me tremendously, thank you!!!! Also, I thought, nothing better than page through some good ol' art history books to get some more inspiration from! Bernini's Baldachin over the main altar in St. Peters' in Rome! There ya go! Some scrap wood, a couple of old tennis balls, some obvious support help from the 6' fence in back of the hive (that would be the hive's north), and some pet-shade kennel canopy in tan (right or wrong, I thought black canopy would defeat the purpose and heat up too much), a ladder, some staples, a drill and a few screws. Oh, yes, rubber bands ... and voilà!!!

Their very own "Bernini baldachin/canopy" is almost flush to the hive on the east side, so they can take full advantage of the morning sun, and the beige mesh cloth falls down a tad on the west side, and it extends more to the west for better shade protection during our hot and long summer afternoons. I'll have to see how it works out (or doesn't!) with our strong NW winds and hail-rain in late July, our monsoon season. It's twist-tied in several places. Baroque architecture in Rome, eat your heart out!

baldacchino 001.r.jpg

baldacchino 002.r.jpg

Constructive criticism is welcome ... I am on a steep learning curve!!! And loving every minute of it! This might just be a prototype gone wrong, if you all think I am miserably failing ...

sylvia

·
Registered
19 Posts