Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any one else get sprayed more than usual? It year 3 with same growers but more dead bees lying dead by entrance. Also noticed some tongues sticking out not going back in on emerging brood. It also seems like lots of queen's slowed down on laying..

·
Banned
648 Posts
In the future it might help if the beekeeper would keep track of what was sprayed, how much and when. I know, as a farmer, I wouldn't have a problem giving out that information.

·
Registered
2,136 Posts
I'm not sure how it works in California, but I used to have a pesticide applicators license in Oregon. Each year I had to report pesticides used, date, concentration, etc. The report was annual, but I had to keep records of each application for the report. Even though the report was sent in, due to cutbacks, no one at the State entered the data. But if someone had asked it would have been easy to give them that data.

My point is, I would ask for a report from anyone that I placed bees with. Even if there were no problems. The problem sprays might become apparent over time and before placing bees you could ask about plans and perhaps even refuse to place them if certain sprays were anticipated.

·
Registered
5,486 Posts
I'm sure they report the same here, but with anything, you need to create a relationship/dialogue with the grower to find out when and what's being sprayed.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I am seeing that too from one of my orchards near Tracy, and got a list of chemicals the almond grower applied. The labels all say nothing about toxicity to bees.
1. Protocol: fungicide
2. Calnax: foliar fertilizer spray
3. Acadian: Fertilizer
4. Acidiphactant: compatibility agent, acidifying agent, penetrant, surfactant, spreader, wetting agent

I reported it to the county and they came out and took samples of the bees, and a swab sample of the lid.