Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was told about "Africanized Honey," NOT honey from Africa .

I am very new to the world of honey and could use some wise counsel.

I am helping a family-member on the East Coast. At their association meeting, a potential customer inquired about what he thought was called "Africanized Honey," presumably a honey product from southern states' honeybess that have cross-bred. He described the honey as having a caramel fragrance and/or taste and maybe originating in Texas. I was asked to help out, because I live in the Austin, TX area and could maybe find a local (TX) source.

Anyway, the client is looking to purchase a couple of drums of this type of honey, if we can locate the product.

Has anyone heard of or have any knowledge of "Africanized Honey?" Or might I be unknowingly hunting snipe??? :eek:

Any help will be greatly appreciated...Please Advise, if possible.

Thank You!
Michael Hylton

·
Registered
298 Posts
They sent you on a wild goose chase. Any time a hive is determined to be Africanized, it is exterminated. There's no way anyone is raising/beekeeping them for honey!!!!!!! There would be some serious liabilities if someone tried and then bad .... happened to folks.

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
Honey does not differ by the sub-species of bee. It is the floral source you are looking for.
There are plenty of possibly AHB in Florida, California and other states. We do not destroy them. We requeen!
I raised my biggest crop per hive in a AHB hive. It is not something you should attempt near people or animals though.

·
Banned
4,229 Posts
sqkcrk:

Once Again... Nunda, New York, 14517.
888-800-8075.

It says that it is 'Lloyd's favorite' (the director of purchasing) honey.

Do you know them?

12 South State Street
Nunda, NY 14517

(585) 468-2535
onceagainnutbutter.com‎

·
Registered
34,542 Posts