Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4,613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was a beginner a few years ago. Those of us that have been around the board for awhile have learned alot. One thing I have learned, Michael Bush is a pretty smart fella when it comes to bees. One thing that Michael has tried to teach us is to keep the bees in a smaller box until they have really filled it before expanding the hive. I just demoted a couple of my slow hives back to a single 10 frame box. I just took the best frames, stuffed them into one box and shook the bees in too. That was 10 days ago. They both had maybe 2-3 frames of brood and maybe a box of bees. Now they both have 6-8 frames of brood and are filling the hive with bees. They are taking off.

Likewise, I started some nucs last week. A couple were in 10 frame boxes, splits really because I had a queen cell. One was a 5 frame with a newly emerged queen. Two were 3 frame nuc boxes with a frame of brood, a frame of stores (honey and pollen), and a frame of drawn comb with whatever. As I checked today, the 10 frames were dwindling slightly and looked lost in the box. The 5 frame was ok. The two 3 frame nucs were stuffed with bees, the queens had emerged, and they looked happy and snug.

Read the board, ask questions, and personally, seek out the posts by Michael and read carefully.

·
Registered
438 Posts
I agree Ross. I do not have bees yet but, from this and another forum see how much MB is well respected and a solid man, one whom I respect. I ask dumb questions sometimes, I know by the answers I get but, I still learn. these forums are so much more valuable to me then any book.
I also appreciate the info. I have learned from you.

Thanks all,
Craig

·
Registered
528 Posts
[Read the board, ask questions, and personally, seek out the posts by Michael and read carefully.]

...and do a search.