Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in my second year keeping bees in Maine. I have 2 hives, and the bees in one of them have become relatively inactive in the past couple of weeks. I opened that hive this morning - the lower hive body has 7 frames of empty drawn comb with some capped brood in the remaining 3 frames, and the upper hive body has a small amount of honey, and also some capped brood. At this rate I can't imagine that this hive will have a chance of making it through the winter.

So I have a few questions: 1) why are the bees in this hive so inactive? could it be mites? 2) should I consider consolidating the bees from both hives into a single strong hive to get them through the winter? 3) Should I be treating for mites, or feeding sugar/water, or anything else at this point? Thanks in advance for any responses.

·
Registered
446 Posts
If the other hives are busy, I would look for the queen in the lazy hive. If there is no queen in the lazy hive, that may be your problem.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Actually, I saw the queen when I opened the hive this morning, so I know she's there. And we're in the midst of the goldenrod bloom here, so I can't imagine it's a problem with lack of forage. Hmmm...

·
Registered
2,617 Posts