Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Had a chance yesterday to chat with a local farmer at his corn maze yesterday. He has an apple orchard, vegetable and pumpkins fields.

He didn't have any beekeepers pollinating his crops. I told him I want to expand my hives but need land and if he was interested in having some hives on the farm.

To make a long story short, he was interested. We exchanged cards and I told him I would call hime back to discuss some details. he is interested in pollination and not honey.

I am new to this type of arrangement. Should I ask him for $45 dollars per hive ( going rate here)? It would sure help to pay for the woodenware.

I really want to do this regardless of whether he pays especially if I keep all the honey. I guse I just don't want to look or sound foolish.

Can anyone please share their experences so I can make a judgement call?

Thanks alot!!

·
Registered
174 Posts
If he is renting you a year round location to keep bees, then you shouldn't expect anything more from him, and should pay him with a couple jars of honey at the end of the year.

If you are providing a pollination service, moving bees in during bloom, and then moving them out for the remainder of the year then you should charge a minimum (mine is $300) up to ten hives and $30-$55/per additional hive after the first ten.

·
Registered
1,888 Posts
I have a number of hives at locations other than my own property.
My locations are not large commercial operations that bring in hives for pollination.
I don't charge for my hives at these sites, as it is a benefit to both of us.
I have a place to keep my hives year round and can run them the way I want. I don't have to move them in and out unless I want to or need to.
I am not tied to keeping "x" number of hives of a certain strength from this date to this date.