Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning, I have a super strong hive,2 deeps and 1 medium. It still has honey in it.All three boxes are full of bees. It hit 80 degrees yesterday, but only 35 today. My plan was to get a new queen and split, but queens are not available till May. Should I split when it warms up and let them produce a new queen? I did put on a super yesterday to give them more room. I've never done a split before. Thanks for your comments. KAD

·
Registered
8,380 Posts
Good morning, I have a super strong hive,2 deeps and 1 medium. It still has honey in it.All three boxes are full of bees. It hit 80 degrees yesterday, but only 35 today. My plan was to get a new queen and split, but queens are not available till May. Should I split when it warms up and let them produce a new queen? I did put on a super yesterday to give them more room. I've never done a split before. Thanks for your comments. KAD
If you are at the point of swarming in your area, I recommend the following procedure as it works well for me. Find your queen and move her and the frame she is on to a separate box. Give her two more frames of brood and bees and surround that split with frames with and without stores. This can be done by juggling frames in your existing brood boxes. Replace any frames missing in the brood boxes on the now queenless hives bottom board. Note! Make sure no swarm cells are in that bottom brood box/s!

Put a queen excluder over queenless colony and stack on two supers. Without brood to raise they will be storing surplus honey. Put an excluder over the supers and set the queen and her split on top. She will have lots of room to lay and will get at it. This top split needs an entrance of their own however you want to provide it. Since my boxes are just pine not teak or walnut, I just drill a 1" hole right below the handhold on the front of the box. I am not concerned about drifting!