Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I'm in my 3rd year of keeping bees, so I have a lot to learn yet. This is my first year making splits without purchasing queens.

I have one hive that had become really strong early in the season and had four mediums used for brood. I pulled 2 medium boxes and made a split to hopefully prevent a swarm. I had no idea where the queen was when I made the split(I have never been able to find this queen), but after checking a few days later she is in the split hive. By sheer luck I think I did something right! LOL

Yesterday I went back in the original hive to make sure they were making emergency queen cells and saw that they had about 5 capped swarm cells. I did not know the swarm cells were already there when I made the split because I was trying to do the split before I went out of town for a few days and was in a rush.

What can I expect now from the original hive now? Didn't I create an artificial swarm and avoid a major swarm? Will the first hatching queen likely dispatch the other queens and this hive not swarm?

Thank you!

·
Registered
405 Posts
What makes you believe they are swarm cells not emergency cells? If you're going just based on their position on the frame I would suspect they are actually just emergency cells and you're misunderstanding how to differentiate between the types of cells. Either way I suspect you will be fine at this point. If they had indeed decided to swarm and you split them up you most likely stopped them from hitting the trees.

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
Don't over think it. Leave them for awhile. If you have multiple frames in the old hive you can make a few nucs and have more hives.
Also make sure you give each hive additional room if you havent already.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·