Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I am a novice beekeeper in Texas, going into year 4, with 3 hives currently.

I keep my bees in a remote location, and life got in the way, and I just opened them for the first time in a month. One hive looks to me like it is about to swarm, so I thought I would post on here and see what advice everyone had for me.

In the hive in question, I opened it up and it had a LOT of bees in it, including a very noticeable proportion of drones. There were about 6-7 frames of capped brood, but I did not see any uncapped brood. There was one open queen cell, and 6 more closed queen cells.

This is a horizontal langstroth hive, and interestingly, there was a frame of capped brood (including quite a bit of it drone brood), that was four or five frames down from the main brood nest, separated by frames of mixed stores and open cells.

There were a lot of frames that had a few stores, but a lot of open space as well outboard from the brood nest. I thought it was surprisingly light on stores overall, despite there being a lot of stuff blooming right now.

It seems odd that there was no open brood, but quite a bit of closed brood. Is it possible that this something happened to the queen and this is a replacement, or maybe a supercedure rather than a build up to a swarm?

Any thoughts or advice?

I am tempted to go ahead and do a taranov split or some other kind of split, but not 100% sure what to do, and if I do a split, not sure if I should leave all the queen cells and let them hatch and fight it out, or scrape out all but one...

Thanks for any insight you all may have!

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
By open, do you mean they have not sealed it yet or the queen has already emerged?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
By open, do you mean they have not sealed it yet or the queen has already emerged?