Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still very new to this. I've been doing alot of reading but can not find the answer to my question. When do I add supers? This is going to be my first hive and will be getting my bees in Mid May.

·
Registered
311 Posts
How will you get your bees? Will they be a package, a nuc, or a fully developed hive? Assuming you go with two deeps for brood, or three mediums for brood, and assuming you are starting with undrawn frames or foundation, I would add the first super when the bees populate about 70% to 80% of those boxes.

Let's say you start with a package, I would keep them in one deep brood box until they have drawn and filled 8 of the ten frames or so. Than add the second deep, let them draw and fill again 8 frames, before you add your first super.

·
Registered
869 Posts
It's not an exact science and most people have their 'preferred' way to do things, but a general rule taught to me was "when they are drawing out the 8th frame of a 10 frame, add another." It's better to give them a little extra room, then not enough. As long as they want to continue building, let them, they'll slow down or stop when it's time.

Craig

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I will be starting with package bees and my hive will be new with undrawn frames and foundation. I plan on using 2 deep brood boxes. I was planning on using 10 frames per box.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
I wouldn't worry about adding supers till you get your brood boxes filled in. You are going to need to feed really hard to get them to draw out the frames. It takes a lot of nectar for them to produce the wax needed for this. Once they get 7 to 8 frames drawn out then add the second brood box. You will probably need to rotate the end frames into the middle to get them to draw them as they tend not to draw out the end frames very well unless you really crowd them.