Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am an aspiring hobbyist, and have no experience from almonds, so please bear over with me if I am asking a dumb question.

Whenever I see pictures from almond-pollination I see mainly white hives and normally on pallets. So far so good.

Still I would have figured that tar-paper or something similar would have been used at the eastern side of the hives to get most out of the morning sun. I understand that the sun will give quite a bit of heat at a clear mid-day, and that the hives should be shaded for that period of the day.

I have read somewhere that a hive will be an efficient pollinator for about 4 hours during a good day on almonds. If that could be raised to 4.5, 5 or even more, my guess is that the growers would be willing to pay more for each hive, as they would need less of them.

Am I totally off here? Or maybe this is the practice today, but I haven't noticed it?

BTW: I also winder why there are water-hogging grass inbetween the rows of almond and weather they use some kind of lining under the trees to keep the moisture from disappearing down and away. -But I guess that may be a question for a different place and time.:)

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
I think what you are suggesting would work, but the factor is man power. You have to realize that millions of hives are put into almonds and not much time to get them in and out. Little attention is paid to orientation. My hives are actually painted a dark green and others use whatever is available but I guess the majority are white so that's probably why it appears that way.

I think getting a almond farmer to pay more for more flying time would be a nice thing...If you can sell them on the idea...count me in.

·
Registered
507 Posts