Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all My name is Mitch and this is my first time on these forums and my second year of beekeeping. I wanted to tell you all that Both my hives wintered well I checked them on saturday when it was 70 degrees here in Virgina. Both the hives are full of bees but I am unsure what to do now. I gave some 1:1 syrup to help get them going but I am lost as to the rest. Do I change out frames? Do I keep feeding them? Do I split the hive. (last year the hive was only but a NUC!). Another question I have is one of the hives is very very agressive and I was wondering how to try and tame it down someone told me I should kill the queen but I do not know how I feel about that and there is very little literature on the subject. Anything you all could reccomend for any of these subjects would be appreciated.

Thank you

·
Registered
583 Posts
hi mitch glad your hive made it thru winter. It's hard to tell what you should do next need more information first off are the bringing in pollen yet.How much stores did they have left if the had stores I wouldn't feed them the queen will need all the extra room to lay changing out frames is not necessary unless there is no room to lay as far as splitting goes are there drones around or you going to have mated queen available.
the hive that is hot how was there stores maybe they were having a bad day that's why they were upset some times if there procting there hive from robbers

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·