Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The bees have bee in the hive for exactly 6 weeks today. What are your experienced eyes seeing here. the pics are in order of how the comb is in the TBH. we tried to get a picture of both sides, but a few of the combs might not be included because we got my face in the picture. The last comb isn't fully developed because i someone suggested i add an additional at the entrance to give them some space at the entrance but they still decided to make a new comb on that bar (should have seen that coming)

https://www.dropbox.com/sc/c3dgbf7blf3lh8q/AAAHWivcEJ1wR1MuNOeVJTsRa

Thank you for your help!

·
Registered
297 Posts
I'm a newb with a TBH too and everything looked good to me. Nice looking comb. Are you worried about something specifically?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no i'm just such a n00b with 2 young kids that i haven't had time to read everything there is to know so i just wanted to post them for the more experienced to make sure i wasn't missing anything serious.

·
Registered
252 Posts
thats from 6 weeks in? holy.... I wound up splitting at about week 4 cause my bees were stuffed into a single 10 frame deep, but the TBH is finally taking off, but nowhere near where you are at now though. I suppose if I were to combine the hives it might make up for it though.

That is so cool. I want one! I might have a (nother) winter project.
I enjoy my TBH far more than my lang. With the TBH I can go out, not smoke and take a peek at how they are doing. The lang however, I can get away with opening the cover but thats it. If I attempted to remove frames, there would be much anger. That and I find the TBH easier to inspect, manipulate an work all around. I've only broken comb once and it was one I had transferred from the lang to the TBH, bees hadnt quite reattached it well enough, it fell while putting it back.