Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
913 Posts
So I'm a new beek and this seems like it might be interesting, but clear something up for me. Bees don't naturally "build up". They build down. They want to start at the top of whatever space they're given and build down until they can go no furthur. If you find natural bees in a large cavity, they'll have big sheets of comb hanging straight down from the ceiling, they started at the top and built down. The only reason beeks claim they build upward is that we add the extra space for them on the top of our hives because it's convenient for us, not because that's what they do, correct?

Also, and remember I'm new at this so take nothing I say without two grains of salt, the remark on the website about overwintering is that each box is smaller and therefore easier for the bees to warm. You'd need the hive to be twice the height though to have the same amount of winter stores, right? I have 22' high ceilings in my living room. I'd personally rather have a wide room with 8' ceilings than a 16' tall skinny room with the same amount of heat...unless I have a ceiling fan :) But that's just me.

·
Registered
358 Posts
I've started building my own boxes. I have built 3 and 5 frame boxes. This way I can put my swarms in a proper size box. I've found they better keep control over what comes into hive. I.E. small hive beetle's and wax moths.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
The honey bees' preferred habitat is a hollow tree with the same approximate shape and volume as two 5-gallon buckets stacked atop each other. The smaller, taller idea makes sense on many levels.

·
Registered
290 Posts
From what I've been reading about biodynamic beekeeping, the long comb design (built down) is the bee's natural preference. I've seen pix of German hives that use this design.