Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a couple of questions...

Im picking up 2 hives here this morning.

1. When i get them over here to the farm how long should i let them sit before i check on them?

2. Feed syrup / pollen supplement inside or outside the hive?

3. What product do i add to my beetle barns or shound i scrap those and go with the oil traps? I have screens on the bottom of the hives but im not sure how they are configured.

4. How come people are worried about angry hives on YouTube when they are doing inspections when they are wearing a bee suit? Or am i about to lean this one hard knocks? LoL:D

·
Registered
308 Posts
Got a couple of questions...

I'm not an expert by a long shot and may be all wrong, but this is my two cents.

Im picking up 2 hives here this morning.
What kind of "hives"? NUCs? 8 Frame/10 Frame boxes? Deeps? Mediums? How many boxes per hive?

1. When i get them over here to the farm how long should i let them sit before i check on them?
If I move a hive, I leave them alone for at least a couple days, but if they're an established colony moved complete with their boxes and frames, it won't bother them much to take a look.

2. Feed syrup / pollen supplement inside or outside the hive?
Depending on your local conditions and the stores they already have, they may not need any supplemental feeding. But any feeding I do later in the summer, I do internally, and nothing attractively scented or oiled to try to avoid robbing. Have robbing screens ready to go. Be careful with pollen sub, it's VERY attractive to small hive beetles. I don't use it after early spring. If I felt it was necessary, I would place a very small amount, no more than they can consume in less than a week.

3. What product do i add to my beetle barns or shound i scrap those and go with the oil traps? I have screens on the bottom of the hives but im not sure how they are configured.