Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just swept up all the dead bees 2 days ago. Below is a pic of how it looks now.

This has been going on for a month or more now. Before then I never had this many dead bees. This hive was started from a package last spring. It's my first year beekeeping, and I'm wondering if this is a seasonal thing or is my colony collapsing?

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
Not normal. Normally the house bees will fly them away from the hive. I would guess you can also find them crawling and walking all over your yard.

·
Banned
141 Posts
Up here in the great white north, bees crawling around in front of the hive indicates a pretty good mite infestation.

·
Registered
8,290 Posts
Tracheal mite damage would have crawlers that form small clusters of bees all over the hive and surounding area. Lots of k winged bees.

Varroa would have crawlers with DWV.

Paralysis would have dead and dying bees all over the ground around the hive...many still twitching and kicking.

The bees in your photo are maybe too spread out for Tracheal. Do the bees come out...or are they dragged out and do they die right there where they lie?

Are you seeing DWV? You say this has been going on for a month or more? Varroa would have killed the colony by now I think...with that many bees dying.

Are the dying bees exiting the hive twitching and kicking?

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Varroa would have crawlers with DWV.

Paralysis would have dead and dying bees all over the ground around the hive...many still twitching and kicking.

Are you seeing DWV? You say this has been going on for a month or more? Varroa would have killed the colony by now I think...with that many bees dying.

Are the dying bees exiting the hive twitching and kicking?