Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I try hard to search for threads before posting a new one, and while I'm sure this question has been addressed many times, I can't find specific answers, so here goes.

Installed 2 nucs in brand new hives almost a month ago. I have been feeding them with top feeders pretty consistently since. I added new plastic foundation I had prepped with beeswax. I quickly added a 2nd deep brood box and surprisingly the bees have already drawn out most of the top brood box comb as well (not completely, but pretty close). I think I'm past swarm concerns (although who knows - I'm a newb!). My primary question is, is it time to add honey supers/queen excluder and let them start drawing those out, or should I be waiting until both brood boxes are not only drawn out but in fully in use (brood, pollen, nectar/honey storage) before adding honey supers? I wasn't anticipating how rapidly they'd draw comb - it's really amazing! I'm thinking, although I know I shouldn't feed once they start storing honey, that for drawing out purposes on the honey super foundations, that feeding them during that process would help them continue to produce wax prolifically.

Interestingly, my friend installed her nucs a week or so before me and they are just starting to draw out her 2nd brood box. I am using Honey Bee Healthy and some Amino Booster in my feeders, so maybe my bees are all hyped up :)

Appreciate any guidance.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts