Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If feeding 1:1 sugar water stimulates bees in the spring, does just feeding a barely wet sugar slush also do the same?

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
No, a thin syrup works best. Try a 2 parts water to 1 part sugar or a 1 to 1 mix and see which works best with yours bees. If your bees need feeding now because of a lack of stores, I would still go with the fall mix of 2 parts sugar to 1 water.

·
Registered
2,905 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'll throw in my experience for what it's worth...My bees have plenty of stores in the hive. For the last week they have been pulling in pollen, but not really doing much else in the hive (I have an observation window so I watch them all the time). Just the other day, I put a weak 1:2 sugar water (an anise oil) solution out in the open feeder and they are gulping it down. (I limit it to 1 cup a day because I don't want them to store it).

Now the bees are all over the comb, festooning, and I bet they are making more comb; which is exactly what I was trying to get them to do. So even though my bees had plenty of stores, my guess is that finding sugar water outside the hive has made them feel like a "flow" is on, so they are getting to work. From the looks of our weather, we are not too far away from a natural flow, and I'm trying to get the bees built up so I can split them.

·
Registered
685 Posts
Yeah, general rule of thumb is that 2:1 (thick syrup) is for long term stores, 1:1 (thin syrup) is for getting them thinking the flow is on and that they need to be building up for it.