APIVAR
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: APIVAR

Default APIVAR

Has anyone had experience with Apivar. I am planning to use it after I harvest my honey and pull the supers. There are always some supers that I can not pull as they are not capped so I leave them on. It is my understanding that all supers need to be pulled. I would appreciate any suggestions and comments on this product. Also because I have health and lung issues is there any information about the need for protective clothing?Is it only available from Man Lake as I have been reading some threads here that are not very favorable.
    Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: APIVAR

i have been using apivar for the past 8 years or so. when handling, just wear disposable rubber gloves. no fumes, no vapors. in a 10 frame deep place two strips staggered off the center frame. treatment last about 45 days. if the weather gets too cold you may need to leave them in over winter. i rotate with oxalic acid vapor treatment and also mite away quick strips. do mite checks regularly and treat accordingly.

Apivar is THE industry wide accepted miticide for effectiveness and ease of application. It is widely available from just about any bee supply house. I personally would not use it while supers that I later intend for honey are present. Better to pull the supers, treat and feed if necessary, and then put the supers back two weeks after you remove the strips. This is consistant with the instructions for use. Use simple latex or nitrile gloves when handling and always wash your hands afterwards. The active ingredient, amitraz, is still found in some flea and tick collars used on pets last time I checked.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.