virgins vs cells

Default virgins vs cells

Ive been raising my own queens for 3-4 years and am considering purchasing or building a small incubator.
    Just looking for peoples opinions on introducing hatched virgins vs ripe queen cells...benefits and drawbacks to each approach.

Ive been using cells to date without cell protectors and the vast majority of them hatch and do well. Just thinking i could move the bottle neck if i were able to hatch virgins in an incubator and also i could then mark them prior to putting them in mating nucs.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts team

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: virgins vs cells

In my view the ability to see them, mark them and confirm they are healthy is about the only advantage of letting them hatch. I’m a pretty strong proponent of placing the cell within 24 hours of hatching and leaving them alone for at least 2 weeks. If the cell is properly handled the probability is extremely high that a healthy queen will hatch out of a cell And I think you will find your acceptance rate is better than with a live virgin. You can always mark them on check backs if you so desire.
    "People will generally accept facts as truth only if the facts agree with what they already believe."- Andy Rooney

yup this is exactly what i have been doing so far.

If you have a reasonably stable climate during the queen-rearing period, then I'm sure Q/C's are fine - and even to be preferred. But if you live in an area (as I do) where temperatures can suddenly drop significantly during q/cell development, then the use of an incubator can prevent those losses which might otherwise occur when q/cells hang from a cell-raising bar.
    LJ
    A Heretics Guide to Beekeeping http://heretics-guide.atwebpages.com/

Quote Originally Posted by aran View Post
    Just thinking i could move the bottle neck if i were able to hatch virgins in an incubator