Swarm now no queen...now what?

Default Swarm now no queen...now what?

Hi, my 3rd year with bees and I still have no clue what I'm doing!
    A few weeks ago my hive with 2 deepsea for brood and 1 medium overwinter great. Gave them plenty of food and also added liquid feeder last month and they kept taking all the 5lb of sugar syrup I could give them. I had lots of brood in all stages in the 2 deeps.

Then last week my neighbor calls and says there is a huge swarm of bees going by from my yard past theirs?!
    Then this happened a 2nd time a week later!
    Pretty sure they were my bees.
    They seemed fine and had plenty of room and food so cant understand why they all left?

I took the feeder off a few days ago and checked the boxes thoroughly yesterday as we finally had nice weather, (in Missouri)...still have a fair number of bees. But I could not find a queen I am not very good at finding her but I assume there is none because now I see zero brood in any stages on any frames...so that equals no new bees soon, right?! All the boards have mostly a lot of uncapped nectar/syrup, and what looks like pollen and some boards full of empty cells available for brood.

What did I do wrong and what should I do now?
    I saw one big blob of cells but nothing that looked like an active queen cell anywhere.
    Do I wait for them to do their thing and hopefully make a new queen?
    Do I try to buy a new queen and get her in there now with the assumption there is none?
    How long will my bees last if no queen and will they definitely make a new queennif I just wait or could they just die out?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Swarm now no queen...now what?

I am not the best person to answer this, but I will give you my impression of what you saw. What I am going to say, is based on my experiences.