Is my hive top feeder 'working'? Puzzled....

Default Is my hive top feeder 'working'? Puzzled....

Installed package 2 days ago in a new hive (I'm a newbie). I have the mann lake top feeder. I took a look a few times, and it seems only a few bees are going 'down' the sides and tasting the sweetness. (heh) Most are clustered at the top and are very 'active' up there. See photos. Is this normal? Anything I can/should do? Should I squirt a few blobs of honey down the screen and also down into the gaps, to sort of show them 'this is the way to the promised land!'?

I THINK the liquid level is going down steadily, I guess I can mark/measure it. thx!

feed1.jpgfeed2.jpgfeed3.jpg

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Is my hive top feeder 'working'? Puzzled....

Mark it so you know. Not familiar with Mann lake top feeders, but it sure looks like there are plenty of bees that know its there. Sometimes it is helpful to dribble some syrup if they do not come up to the feeder. Remember, its just a package of small bugs starting out so its not like they will drink a gallon a day. Mark the level and make sure. J

Quote Originally Posted by Fivej View Post
    Mark it so you know. Not familiar with Mann lake top feeders, but it sure looks like there are plenty of bees that know its there. Sometimes it is helpful to dribble some syrup if they do not come up to the feeder. Remember, its just a package of small bugs starting out so its not like they will drink a gallon a day. Mark the level and make sure. J
    will do!