Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Swarm trap opinions please.

3K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  Larry in OK 
#1 ·
This is my first year trying swarm traps so other than what I've "learned" from youtube videos and read here I'm fairly clueless.
I noticed action on this box yesterday and this morning. We had some moderate storms roll through this afternoon they were still hanging around this evening at sunset when I shot this video.
The box is set on top of my wood shed so getting a good video from the ground is a bit of a challenge.

Anyway this was shot a few minutes before sunset this evening seeing lots of bees going in and really looks like a large amount of bees visible inside the entrance. I may be getting wishful thinking but it sort of looks like a swarm has moved in.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I want to bet you got yourself a swarm.
This late in the day all the scouts are normally gone (save for 10-20 who decide to stay, if they are very serious).
With the trap seemingly packed, even from the picture, that gotta be a swarm in there.

#3 ·
If the weather permits I'll get into this box we with my USB endoscope this evening or tomorrow evening and see if I can get a look at what's going on without too much disturbance. This "trap" was kind of a last minute "oh, what the heck" set up and I think it only has 4 frames in it of mostly old drawn comb. Of course the least prepared box catches the first swarm.

#10 ·
Got both of these swarms into permanent hives in my bee yard this morning. The hive from the roof of the woodshed had been there longer than I guessed. I was thinking 5-6 days but there was capped brood in that box. The swarm from my neighbors land had larva and eggs but no capped brood. Both were drawing out comb. I put a frame feeder with 2 liters of syrup and a couple of frames of drawn comb in each hive with half of a swiffer dry sheet on top of the frames to get SHB.