UPS Lost my bees
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default UPS Lost my bees

This is my first year beekeeping, though now I wonder if I'm going to be able to. I live in Portland, OR and ordered 2 packages of bees from Georgia. I was notified that they shipped and were to arrive Friday 3/27 by 10:30 am. I ultimately received a notice that they were going to arrive on 3/27 but later than promised. It is now 3/28 Saturday and I had to file an investigation to find the package.

My question is how long can a package survive in the package box with just the sugar can, and will I have a number of dead bees that would alter the way that I install the packages in a new hive? Have never posted before so thanks for the help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: UPS Lost my bees

I would call the supplier to ask how long the bees had been packaged before shipment and how long they could expect to survive, fortunately it is not very hot, yet.
    The bees may be sitting on the dock at your nearest terminal. Have you checked the detailed tracking info at ups.com? That may tell you where they are.

Good luck, I hope you find them.
    Alex
    Ten years of Beekeeping before varroa. Started again spring of 2014.

I have kept a package for three days before putting it in a hive. I estimate the bees had been in the box at least a week total. Had a hundred plus dead but that is a very small percentage. You may want to mist them with syrup when you get them. Access to the syrup in the can is limited.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.