How often to re-bate swarm trap
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How often to re-bate swarm trap

This is my first year setting out traps. I use LGO at the entrance and drop a cotton ball with LGO inside the box. How often should I go back and re-apply? Or is this a once a year deal? Learning all I can here. Thanks for your input.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: How often to re-bate swarm trap

Welcome to Beesource. LGO lasts pretty much all swarm season so you should not need to rebait. Be careful not to use too much. Two drops is all you need. Swarm Commander, if used, recommends reapplying every couple of weeks. I have had a swarm move into a bait hive that had not been baited for over a year. YMMV.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.

Thank you JWPalmer. I sure appreciate the guidance. Currently have 4 traps set and probably another 10 to go. I wanted to make sure I didn't have to keep going back every few weeks to re-apply LGO.

Quote Originally Posted by JWPalmer View Post
    Welcome to Beesource.
    Agreed- welcome to Beesource. And good luck in your trapping efforts this year!

Where are you located?
    Ecclesiastes 11:4

Thank you... ! Located in Central Louisiana

Quote Originally Posted by kmcdaniel View Post
    Thank you... ! Located in Central Louisiana
    Any hits yet on your traps?

Not a single one. Not sure what else to try for bait besides LGO. Currently have 6 out, and 4 more to set. I am trying something a little different in each trap though. Some with more space, some full of frames, etc.. to see what works best. Also, I try and find good locations, but again im new to this game.