Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

How long to leave queen after mated.

3K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  Amibusiness 
#1 · (Edited)
How long to leave queen after mating?

This is my first year using queen castles. I've always placed my cells directly into queenless hives without moving them around.

I just did my first round in 4, 4 way castles. Of the 16, I ended up with 15 mated queens.

How long should I leave a new queen to lay before using her to replace existing/old queens? Once I confirm she's viable and see capped worker cells? As soon as I see eggs?

I plan on grafting again this week. This should give the queen 20 days before I remove her and add another cell. However, I could graft much sooner if able. Is it also common to cycle out frames? They are packing in nectar/brood and I'm thinking of removing a frame to give to other colonies and replacing with an empty. These little two framers can sure do work!

Do I have it right? A lot of info out there on getting the queens, not much on continuing the cycle.

#2 ·
Re: How long to leave queen after mating?

This is my first year using queen castles. I've always placed my cells directly into queenless hives without moving them around.

I just did my first round in 4, 4 way castles. Of the 16, I ended up with 15 mated queens.

How long should I leave a new queen to lay before using her to replace existing/old queens? Once I confirm she's viable and see capped worker cells? As soon as I see eggs?

I plan on grafting again this week. This should give the queen 20 days before I remove her and add another cell. However, I could graft much sooner if able. Is it also common to cycle out frames? They are packing in nectar/brood and I'm thinking of removing a frame to give to other colonies and replacing with an empty. These little two framers can sure do work!

Do I have it right? A lot of info out there on getting the queens, not much on continuing the cycle.