Honey extractor choices
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Honey extractor choices

I am new to the hobby as of this spring. Like many of you here I have a love for bees and keeping them. I started with two hives and made splits to make 4 going into winter. I will most likely stay between 4-8 hives in total and I just got my brother-in-law and father-in-law into the hobby. They will each only have 1-2 hives. I am looking to buy a community extractor and am ok with the buy once cry once philosophy. I am thinking of the Maxant 3100p with the 9 frame basket. Is this the best choice or would it be better for me to go with a cheaper Vivo extractor since I do not have that many hives? One more note. I plan on only keeping 3 supers per hive, this means that I will have to harvest honey at least twice a year. Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Honey extractor choices

I own a 3100P and am very pleased with how fast it extracts and how clean(of honey) frame and comb are after extraction. It takes about three minutes to spin three deep frames to near dry. One needs a second person uncapping or need to stop to uncap. Really need one person attending the extractor to monitor getting out of balance and ramping up the speed. It is quality made but I wouldn't call it robust. The wood portion of the frame is close to dry after extraction. Extractor is small enough and light enough to be moved around readily.

The deep frames can only be processed in tangential mode which I don't mind at all. I have not done medium frames in radial mode, but think one could do 6-9(depends if you load the 3 frames in tangential mode) frames in 10 minutes. In tangential mode, it is near impossible to blow comb/foundation due to good support grillage of basket. This design allows for extraction of foundationless frames and wax foundation frames with little damage to comb/foundation.