Best bee strain for KY?

Default Best bee strain for KY?

Which bee strain does best in Kentucky (Lexington area)? I've raised bees once before for a year in Texas (didn't turn out great...) so I am still a beginner. I want bees that are resistant to varroa but produce honey well. I'm thinking Buckfast, BWeaver, or Russians (I hear they're aggressive?). Any suggestions?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Best bee strain for KY?

Quote Originally Posted by KYBeek View Post
    Any suggestions?
    Local feral or local managed treatment free bees. If I was starting to keep bees in your area, I would call folks who do bee removals to ask if they are treatment free and do they sell nucleus colonies.
    David Matlock

Any bees that you can keep alive and manage swarming; are the best. Use local bees and queens.

Saskatraz
    NCSBA Certified Beekeeper - my Youtube Vlog
    https://www.youtube.com/c/BackyardBeesNC

Quote Originally Posted by KYBeek View Post
    Which bee strain does best in Kentucky (Lexington area)? I've raised bees once before for a year in Texas (didn't turn out great...) so I am still a beginner. I want bees that are resistant to varroa but produce honey well. I'm thinking Buckfast, BWeaver, or Russians (I hear they're aggressive?). Any suggestions?
    KYBeek:

Welcome to Beesource!

I live in the far Western end of our fair Commonwealth, but in your location I would suggest touching base with Ms. Dorothey Morgan.

She is the President of the Kentucky Queen Breeders Association and they have frequent presentations at Kentucky State University:

http://kyqueenbreeders.com/pres-dorothy-morgan/

Beyond that, I have had the best success thus far generally following the advice that Riverderwent gave you, namely catching/hiving swarms and trap-outs.

Best of success to you, and I look forward to hearing how your beekeeping effort goes.

Russ
    Ecclesiastes 11:4

Quote Originally Posted by ifixoldhouses View Post