My first Melomel - elderberry mead

Default My first Melomel - elderberry mead

I bought this kit just to try my hand at making mead. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mead-Making-Kit/153156566890 It contains a 1 gallon glass carboy, stopper with air lock, yeast, and yeast nutrient. (BTW, I have no experience at this, so excuse me if I say something stupid.)

3 days ago I prepared the must, using just over 3 lbs of honey (probably about 3 lbs 2 oz, but I got the calculation confused), 32 oz of elderberry juice (our own, unsweetened), and water to complete the gallon. I also added 1 teaspoon of the included nutrient. I pitched the yeast with the must in the carboy, shook vigorously, and put the stopper/airlock on. It started bubbling within a couple of hours.

Today, 3 days later, it is bubbling well, and smells great. I have "swirled" it a few times over the last couple of days, but never have removed the airlock.

OK, so where do I go from here? I read about racking, so I know I need to get prepared for that, but the basic kit doesn't have a siphon, nor do I have another carboy for the secondary fermentation.

Is is possible to do the secondary fermentation in the same carboy, just siphon out the liquid into a clean container (stainless steel pot), wash out the carboy, and put it back in the carboy for another round?

Also, I don't have bottles - can I "bottle" into the same carboy?

i know this sounds silly, as if I continue to make mead, I will want more equipment, but I want (for right now) to keep it simple, and inexpensive, but still hope for a decent result.

Input and other suggestions to improve my chances for sucess are welcome. Please.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: My first Melomel - elderberry mead