bee stings

Thread: bee stings

Sad bee stings

This is my first year. My first few stings I had a very little reaction, but my last few I've had more and more of a reaction with a lot of swelling. Is this normal and will it continue to get worse?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: bee stings

Where you get stung on your body and how much venom getís delivered has a good deal to do with reaction, different areas respond more acutely to a sting. I swelled a lot at the start, nearly 30 years ago, but for the most part have no swelling now....except for my hands. Increasing reaction would concern me, especially if you have any itching or reaction away from the site of the sting or any respitory response at all such as tightening in your throat. My dad went through a similar experiance as yours and he did eventually move away from a bad reaction. Keep in mind 1sting if you suffer anaphylaxis may be your last so take proper medical and support precautions if you are concerned such as testing, an Eli pen and someone with you admitted it in an emergency. Getting stung on a regular basis seems to be less of a an issue than being stung with long periods between stings, Maybe because your body may learn to recognize the foreign proteins and react properly. At a certain point even those of us who seem to be immune may get the magic sting, a point when you may have a life threatening reaction. Local reactions concern me much less than any off sting site reaction.

Quote Originally Posted by billb9 View Post
    This is my first year. My first few stings I had a very little reaction, but my last few I've had more and more of a reaction with a lot of swelling. Is this normal [...] ?