Engineering Project

View Poll Results: Are beehives hard to assemble?

Voters
18. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

0 0%
  • No

18 100.00%

Default Engineering Project

I am a High School Pre-engineering student and for my project I need to know if there is a problem with beehive cost and beehive assembly being to difficult

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Engineering Project

You might be surprised to learn that most (not all!)beekeepers think the cost of woodenware is reasonable. I think all would agree that the boxes are easy to assemble with minimal woodworking experience. The frames are a little trickier to nail or staple just because they are smaller. Of course, everyone would be in favor of cheaper and easier. J

Not sure what you are hoping to prove/disprove. Most woodenware is actually quite reasonable compared to the cost of the raw materials if one were to purchase the wood at one of the big box hardware stores. Cheaper usually means a lower grade of lumber. Poly hives probably have more room for movement as they are priced higher and I believe cost less in materials. Talk about your plans, the folks here will keep you on track.
    Thankfully, the bees are smarter than I am. They are doing well, in spite of my efforts to help them.

I am sure people would love woodenware to cost less. It has already been heavily optimized. It is a bit like building a better mousetrap, everyone would love it, but it is hard to do.

PS I am a mechanical engineer.

An easy and quick way to assemble frames and increase the strength of the attachment of the top bar to the side bars wood be helpful.
    David Matlock